Artist Statement.

Artist Name: Kasey Windle-Heath.

Artistic Field: Photographer.

 

Photography is not only my chosen occupation, it is my passion and my calling. From a young age, I have always had an artist edge although growing up and developing my artistic calling wasn’t always easy, until I attend college for the first time to do Art and Design at Barnsley College. This is where I discovered photography as an art form and not just on a smart phone app. The darkroom fascinated me and I couldn’t think of a place I was happier. This is when I discovered I my photographic eye. The eye for details, I discovered I don’t just see the world as it was presented to me, I began to notice the formations, the shapes and crops that others couldn’t.

 

Photography drives me, it is my burning desire to photography everything I see and everything I see as beautiful in the world. To me beauty is not as obvious as some may think. Sometimes we need to peel back the cover to see the beauty underneath. This can be done through the ability of a photographing a piece, photography only shows what we want but what we want to show, a snippet of time and a moment from the past. I have heard in the past that some say photography is a dying occupation, because everything has been photographed before. The way I see it is: yes, everything may have been photographed before but it’s the way its photographed and who photographed it, that is still to be discovered. From this we can gain a new perspective and a border look into the world through the use of photography.

 

As a female photographer, being in a world that is dominated my males, is not a challenge to me it is my comfort. A woman’s perspective can always help,  this not to be as popular in the world of professional photographers, I find comfort in the fact that I can be seen as unique.

