****IDEA****

From the word ‘Ripple’ I aimed to be influenced down the right path. I finally landed on Patterns of the City… how?

Ripple> Rings> Pattern>… Theme?> Street> Patterns of the City!

I have gained influence from this idea and been influenced by the greats like Nick Frank who photographed a series of images called ‘Urban Patterns’. (see below)

Image by Nick Frank, Urban Patterns
Image by Nick Frank, Urban Patterns

His images, mainly of architecture and the patterns they hold are captured with the greatest detail in mind, capturing the beauty of what we see daily but take no notice of.  The detail he sees within an urban setting and is able to capture the ‘perfectness’ of the subjects he photographs, even though it may only be a section of the buildings, they are done with great attention to detail and selection of area. This is what I aim to take from his images and influence me in the project.

Image by Nick Frank, Urban Patterns
Image by Nick Frank, Urban Patterns

I aim to create images that resemble the great patterns of the city, the city I have chosen to include in this project is the great steel city of Sheffield. With old and new buildings available all in one area I think Sheffield will be the prime location to capture the detail and patterns I aim for.

